Parliamentary general election on 4 July 2024

About the election

A UK Parliamentary general election allows UK citizens to elect their local Member of Parliament (MP) for up to five years. Each constituency has several candidates, including those from national political parties and independents. The candidate with the most votes becomes the MP.

About Buckinghamshire constituencies

There are 5 Parliamentary constituencies covering the Buckinghamshire area:

  • Aylesbury
  • Beaconsfield
  • Chesham and Amersham
  • Mid Buckinghamshire
  • Wycombe

Each constituency is represented by one Member of Parliament.

The independent Boundary Commission for England created a new constituency called Buckingham and Bletchley due to boundary changes. This consists of the 4 Milton Keynes City Council wards of:

  • Bletchley East
  • Bletchley Park
  • Bletchley West
  • Tattenhoe

As well as the 4 Buckinghamshire Council Wards of:

  • Buckingham East
  • Buckingham West
  • Great Brickhill
  • Winslow

Find the full details of the boundaries of the new constituency as well as a map.

Find out which constituency your address is in by using the Democracy Club's "Who can I vote for?" service.

Who you can vote for

To view candidates for the Buckingham and Bletchley Constituency, visit the Milton Keynes City Council website.

Select your constituency to view the candidates running for your area:

What to do ahead of the election

Your details must be included on the electoral register if you want to vote in elections, polls and referendums. For this election the deadline for registration is 18 June. Register to vote or update your voting details.

If you are already registered to vote at your current address, you do not need to register again.

To check if you are registered to vote, contact our electoral service.

Ahead of the election you may also want to:

If you apply for a new postal vote for the UK Parliamentary election on 4 July (deadline 5pm, 19 June) we expect these to dispatch around 24 June.

If you're likely to be away around that time, you should consider applying for a proxy application instead where someone votes on your behalf.


The election is to take place on 4 July 2024.

Timetable: Parliamentary general election
Application Deadline for receipt
Last date for registration 18 June 2024
Deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes 5pm on 19 June 2024
Last day for Voter Authority Certificates and Anonymous Elector Documents 5pm on 26 June 2024
Deadline for receiving new proxy applications 5pm on 26 June 2024
Receipt of emergency proxy vote applications 5pm on 4 July 2024

Where to vote

The polling station you can vote at will be listed on your polling card. This will be delivered to you by post a few weeks before the election. Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm.

View details about accessibility at polling stations.