Buckinghamshire residents announced in The King's Birthday Honours list

Awards for 21 Buckinghamshire residents were announced today in His Majesty King Charles III’s Birthday Honours List.

These men and women have been recognised for their outstanding work in supporting key services across the fields of business, philanthropy, music, education and public service, for championing charities and voluntary services, for giving service to the armed forces and within their local communities.

His Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire, The Countess Howe, said:

“I am thrilled for the Buckinghamshire residents recognised with an award in the 2024 Birthday Honours and feel immensely proud to be able congratulate so many remarkable individuals who live in the county. These honours celebrate the exceptional contributions of our residents through myriad areas of expertise, reflecting the rich diversity and talent in the county. Their contribution has significantly enriched our county and our country.  I applaud them all and thank them for their admirable commitment and dedication.  

Lady Howe added: “I would encourage everyone to consider if they know of an individual whom they might nominate for a national honour. There are many unsung heroes continually going above and beyond in our communities and improving the lives of our residents. The Buckinghamshire Lieutenancy Office can provide guidance on how to make a nomination.”

The complete list of the Buckinghamshire residents in the 2024 Birthday Honours List is:

Order of the British Empire

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Michael Donald McCartney Izza: Lately Chief Executive, Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. For services to Accounting, Audit and to Sustainability

Iain Aitken Stewart: Lately Member of Parliament for Milton Keynes South and Chair, Transport Select Committee. For Political and Public Service

Jacqueline Toogood: Lately Deputy Director People, Air Command, Ministry of Defence. For services to Defence Personnel

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Dr David Rollinson: Scientific Associate, Natural History Museum. For services to Museum Science and to Public Health

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)Dr David Rollinson: Scientific Associate, Natural History Museum. For services to Museum Science and to Public Health

Raymond Barnaby Tang: Lately Director, Communications, Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities. For Public Service

Brian Edward Williams MBE: Head, Inquiries Sponsorship, Cabinet Office. For Public Service

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Rebecca Caroline Ferguson: Singer, Songwriter and Music Industry Campaigner. For services to the Music Industry

Michael John Garvey: For services to Business in Buckinghamshire

Simon Roger Kearey: For services to the community in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire

John Bradley Kent: For services to Business and to Philanthropy

Dr Samina Khan: Director, Undergraduate Admissions and Outreach, University of Oxford. For services to Higher Education

Hayley Marie Tatum: Senior Vice President, Chief People and Corporate Affairs Officer, Asda. For services to the Voluntary and Charity Sector

Yvette Anesta Thomas: School Improvement Manager, Buckinghamshire Council. For services to Education

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Graham Ellis: For services to the community in Preston Bissett, Buckingham, Buckinghamshire

Margaret Anne Faulkner: For services to the community in Ley Hill, Buckinghamshire

Kenneth James Ivory: Honorary Treasurer, North West London Branch, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association. For service to the Armed Forces Community

David Miles Marshall: For services to the community in Dunsmore, Buckinghamshire

Alan Preen: For services to the community in Bow Brickhill, Buckinghamshire

Derrick Andrew Scott MVO: Civic Team Manager for Civic Events and the Mayor's Office, Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead. For services to Local Government

James George William Stacey: For services to the community in Marlow, Buckinghamshire

Dr Andrew Douglas Tyerman: Trustee, Headway UK and lately Clinical Lead and Head of Service, Community Head Injury Service, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust. For services to Rehabilitation After Acquired Brain Injury

The honours system recognises people who have made achievements in public life and committed themselves to serving and helping Britain. Potential nominees could be involved in charitable or voluntary activity, or be doing innovative work that makes a significant difference in the community. The nomination process is simple using the government's nomination website.