About this website

On 1 November 2018 the Secretary of State for Housing Communities and Local Government announced a single unitary authority for Buckinghamshire.

This new council will be called Buckinghamshire Council and will replace the existing local councils – Aylesbury Vale District Council, Buckinghamshire County Council, Chiltern District Council, South Bucks District Council and Wycombe District Council – in April 2020.

Who’s leading the change?

The implementation of Buckinghamshire Council is overseen by the Shadow Authority, which will ensure a smooth transition to the new council by 1 April 2020. A total of 202 councillors make up the Shadow Authority. Its key responsibilities include setting a budget for the new Buckinghamshire Council and appointing members to committees.


This website is still in development and currently links to existing information on county and district council websites. Please continue to use the existing county and district websites for the most up-to-date information.